The Department of State is advertising on a website its Diversity Visa lottery program, by which the New York terrorist came into the United States from Uzbekistan. The State Department is still accepting applications for the 2019 Diversity Immigrant Visa Program, letting people from Uzbekistan and all of the countries listed on President Donald Trump's most recent travel ban. The notice said that they have three more weeks to apply.

Every year, millions of foreigners apply to the Diversity Visa lottery program of which 50,000 are selected. In 2010, Sayfullo Saipov entered the U.S. through the diversity visa program and has since sponsored as many as 23 other immigrants. On October 31, the 29-year-old native of Uzbekistan killed eight people and wounded 11 by mowing them down with a pickup truck in a method identical to that used in vehicular attacks by Muslim terrorists elsewhere. 

According to the State Department, the next Diversity Visa lottery is open now: 

"The 2019 entry period will run from 12:00 pm (noon), Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) (GMT-4), Wednesday, October 18, 2017, until 12:00 pm (noon), Eastern Standard Time (EST)(GMT-5), Wednesday, November 22, 2017."

It went on to say

"We cannot accept (2019) entries after noon EST on Tuesday, November 22, 2017."

Section 203(c) of the Immigration and Nationality Act stipulates that Department of State must accept 50,000 "diversity immigrants" annually from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States. It is part of a comprehensive immigration that was signed into law by then-president George H.W. Bush in 1990. 

Applicants selected for the program must meet "simple but strict eligibility requirements" to qualify for a Diversity Visa, according to the website. They must have "either a minimum high school education or its equivalent; OR two years of work experience within the past five years in an occupation that requires at least two years of training or experience to perform.”

The terrorist from Uzbekistan listed his occupation as truck driver. Until the incident in New York City, he had been worker as an Uber driver.

According to the State Department, applicants are chosen through a "randomized computer drawing," while the visas are distributed among six geographic regions --  Africa, Asia, Europe, North America (Bahamas only), Oceania (Australia, New Zealand, various islands), and South/Central America and the Caribbean.

The list of countries includes: Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen, as well as the eight countries listed on President Trump's most recent travel ban, which is now being challenged in the courts.  Natives of Uzbekistan, Iraq, Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Mali, and Niger are also welcome to apply. Natives of the following countries are NOT eligible to apply in 2019 because more than 50,000 natives of those countries emigrated to the United States in the previous five years: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

President Donald Trump tweeted on Wednesday morning:

"I have just ordered Homeland Security to step up our already Extreme Vetting Program. Being politically correct is fine, but not for this! The terrorist came into our country through what is called the 'Diversity Visa Lottery Program,' a Chuck Schumer beauty. I want merit based. We are fighting hard for Merit Based immigration, no more Democrat Lottery Systems. We must get MUCH tougher (and smarter)."



Remains of WW2 pilot found on the bottom of Pacific Ocean

U.S. Navy personnel have discovered the remains of an American aviator who was shot down in combat over the Pacific Ocean in 1944. A team aboard USNS ...


Short Link

Martin Barillas is a former US diplomat and the editor of Spero News.

Do you like what you just read?

Back our investigations with an immediate financial contribution. Spero News operates on the financial support from you and people like you who believe in media independence and free speech.